World GAA

GAA World Games

Between 1900 and 1908 inculsive the Home Champions (32 Counties) played London for the All-Ireland Championship in both Gaelic Football and Hurling. The first International GAA played was the Tailteann Games of 1924-1932, and this was followed by the 1947 All-Ireland Football Final, which was held in New York. In the 1950s the St. Brendan’s Cup finals were held between New York and the National Football League & National Hurling League winners. In the 1960s there was the World Championship Cup between New York & The All-Ireland Champions.

From thereon New York & London played in the All-Ireland Championship in Football and London, Warwickshire & Lancashire in the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard & Lory Meaghar Cups in Hurling. The World Games is the latest development in the GAA’s World Programme: It is essentially a Provincial Championship for the Americas (New York, United States & Canada in Americas – Native Cup) & World Counties (Europe, Australasia, Asia & Middle East – Irish Cup) with development programmes in Russia, Africa, Caribbean, Latin America & Argentina.

GFHA Australasia

Asia GAA

Middle East GAA

Africa GAA Development